Koh Chang Overview Guides

Follow
Twitter
Facebook
Google+

National public holidays of Thailand in 2014

Koh Chang Overview | Public Holiday of Thailand

In Thailand, national holidays that fall on a weekend are generally taken as holidays on the following Monday. Chinese New Year (the new Lunar New Year, or Spring Festival) in February is not an official holiday.

Public holidays in Thailand are regulated by the government, and most are observed by both the public and private sectors. There are usually sixteen public holidays in a year, but more may be declared by the Cabinet. Note that the actual number of holidays for the individual is determined by the nature of the organization for which she works i.e. public, private, institutions governed by the Bank of Thailand or state-owned enterprises (excluding financial institutions). On average workers for the first three groups are entitled to fourteen holidays while state-owned enterprise workers enjoy up to fifteen holidays (or more). If a holiday falls on a weekend, one following workday is observed as a compensatory non-workday. The Bank of Thailand regulates bank holidays, which differ slightly from those observed by the government. Other observances, both official and non-official, local and international, are observed in varying degrees throughout the country.

Most of the festivals in Thailand are based on the Lunar calendar, meaning that the dates change from year to year, unlike the Western calendar. When a public holiday falls on a weekend, government grants a compensatory non workday. For example, if a public holiday falls on Sunday, that would make Monday be a compensatory non workday. Please be aware that the dates of the Thailand public holidays for the year 2014 below is only an estimate.

 

Public Holiday of Thailand 2014

  • 1 January 2014, Wednesday New Year’s Day
  • 14 February 2014, Friday Makha Bucha Day
  • 6 April 2014, Sunday Chakri Day
  • 7 April 2014, Monday Substitution for Chakri Day
  • 13 April 2014, Sunday Songkran Day
  • 14 April 2014, Monday Songkran Day
  • 15 April 2014, Tuesday Songkran Day
  • 5 May 2014, Monday Coronation Day
  • 13 May 2014, Tuesday Visakha Bucha Day
  • 1 July 2014, Friday Labour Day
  • 11 July 2014, Friday Arsarnha Bucha Day
  • 12 August 2014, Tuesday Her Majesty the Queen’s Birthday
  • 23 October 2014, Thursday King Chulalongkorn Memorial Day
  • 5 December 2014, Friday His Majesty the King’s Birthday
  • 10 December 2014, Wednesday Constitution Day
  • 31 December 2014, Wednesday New Year’s Eve.


Last Updated: 20 Feb 2014